Purchase 

           2016 Guide

        

     


 

2016 Coromandel Peninsula Art & Craft Fair 16 July - conditions and application form

The Mercury Bay Art Escape is a self-drive Open Studio Tour centred around the beautiful coastal area of Mercury Bay on the Eastern Coromandel Peninsula, New Zealand, encompassing the areas of Pauanui, Tairua, Hahei, Hot Water Beach, Cooks Beach, Whenuakite, Whitianga and Kuaotunu in the first two weekends in March each year.

We look forward to showcasing the creative talents of our member artists in the next Open Studio Tour, 4 & 5 and 11 & 12 March 2017 featuring a variety of media from jewellery, pottery, painting, photography, hand forged knives, sculpture, wood carving, mosaics and weaving. We will be celebrating our 10th Open Studio Tour so plans are underway to make this special.

If you have missed the 2016 March Open Studio Tour we encourage you to contact our artists and make a time to visit their studios at any time during the year. Go to the Artists drop down above and view all of our members who are listed alphabetically and by location.

The tour is free and self paced but it is recommended you purchase the latest Guide.

The 2016 Guide is a 154 page full colour, spiral bound reference manual. It includes artists' biographies, easy to read maps and images of a selection of their work, plus listings for many cafes, galleries, tours and accommodation options in the area. It is an all year round reference to the creative talent in the Mercury Bay. The tour is free but it is recommended that you have a copy of the latest Guide. It is handy to have on hand whether you are a visitor, local holiday home owner or an art lover.


The 2016 Open Studio Tour launches at Hot Waves Cafe, Hot Water Beach on Friday 4 March 2016 with a month-long 'Taste of the Tour' Showcase Exhibition. We are pleased to have Matt Gauldie, artist, sculptor and official NZ Defence Forces Artist as our guest speaker. This is an ideal opportunity to meet the artists, get a feel for the work on show and take an early opportunity to purchase works. This much anticipated social event sells out every year so get your tickets early for 2016. The exhibition features one work from each member plus a work from the 2015 Scholarship winner Emily Boswell. 

The exhibition runs from 5 March to 3 April. Remember to vote for the People's Choice Award when you visit.








Airdrie Hamilton /artists/airdrie-hamilton
Whenuakite
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Airdrie Hamilton/3c Airdrie Hamilton Falling water.jpg Falling water
Alan & Julia Rhodes /artists/alan-rhodes
Whenuakite
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Alan Rhodes/1 Alan Rhodes platter.jpg Platter
Anne Bowden /artists/anne-bowden
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Anne Bowden/1 Anne Bowden Putting on the Ritz.jpg Putting on the Ritz
Becs Wood /artists/becs-wood
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Becs Wood/1 Becs Wood Tutaritari.jpg Tutaritari
Betty Collings /artists/betty-collings
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Betty Collings/C Betty Colllings Restless.jpg Restless
Blair Matheson /artists/blair-matheson
Cooks Beach
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Blair Matheson/1 Blair Matheson Passing Shower.jpg Passing Shower
Carolyn Milbank /artists/carolyn-milbank
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Carolyn Milbank/1 Carolyn Milbank Sentinel.jpg Sentinel
Charlotte Giblin /artists/charlotte-giblin-new
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Charlotte Giblin/1 Charlotte Giblin Waikino Station.jpg Waikino Station
Christine Bannan /artists/christine-bannan
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Christine Bannan/IMG_2095.jpeg Ruru
Colin Verner /artists/colin-verner
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Colin Verner/1 Colin Verner Assimilation.jpg Assimilation
Dhyana Muir /artists/dyhana-muir
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Dhyana Muir/1 Cruising the coast.jpg Cruising the coast
Gary Burrett /artists/gary-burrett
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Gary Burrett/1 Fishing at Ferry Landing.jpg Fishing at Ferry Landing
Gary Nevin /artists/gary-nevin
Whenuakite
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Gary Nevin/1 Gary Nevin Ramsay family sheep.jpg Ramsay family sheep
Ginney Deavoll /artists/ginney-deavoll
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Ginney Deavoll/1 Ginney Deavoll Flying with Giants.jpg Flying with Giants
Hans-Leo Peters NEW /artists/hans-leo-peters-new
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Hans-Leo Peters/4C Hans-Leo Peters Koala Love pendant 2015.jpg Koala Love pendant 2015
Ian Calloway /artists/ian-calloway-new
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Ian Calloway/1 Ian Calloway Sunrise.jpg Sunrise
Ian Webster /artists/ian-webster
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Ian Webster/1 Ian Webster Hook with carved scene.jpg Hook with carved scene.
Judy Glucina /artists/judy-glucina
Hot Water Beach
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Judy Glucina/1 Judy Glucina Pukeko - Porphyrio melanotus - Hot Water Beach.jpg Pukeko - Porphyrio melanotus
Julie Whyman NEW /artists/julie-whyman
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Julie Whyman/c Julie Whyman Witness.jpg Witness
Kate Hill /artists/kate-hill
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Kate Hill/1 Kate Hill Waiting.jpg Waiting
Kay de Blaauw NEW /artists/kay-de-blaauw
Cooks Beach
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Kay de Blaauw/1 Kay de Blaauw Blossoms.jpg Blossoms
Liz Hart /artists/liz-hart
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Liz Hart/1 Liz Hart Waiting for the tide.jpg Waiting for the tide
Lloyd Franklin /artists/lloyd-amp-dan-franklin
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Lloyd Franklin/1 LLoyd Franklin chefs knives.jpg Chefs knives
Lucy Horne /artists/lucy-horne
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Lucy Horne/1 Lucy Horne Travelling painting 7small.jpg Travelling painting 7
Lutz Gaebler /artists/lutz-gaebler-try-fluke-studio
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Lutz Gaebler/1 Lutz Gaebler Reflective Zimmermann.jpg Reflective Zimmermann
Margaret Ivory /artists/margaret-ivory
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Margaret Ivory/1 Margaret Ivory Who was listening.jpg Who was listening?
Margherita Giampietri /artists/margherita-giampietri
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Margherita Giampietri/1 Margherita Giampietri Hydrangeas.jpg Hydrangeas
Martinus Sarangapany /artists/martinus-sarangapany-new
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Martinus Sarangapany/1 Martinus Sarangapany Transient.jpg Transient
Meg Auth /artists/meg-auth
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Meg Auth/1C Meg Auth I love the beach series.jpg I love the beach series
Mercury Bay Area School Secondary Visual Art Students /artists/mercury-bay-area-school-secondary-visual-art-students
Whitianga
1 /Scholarships/IMG_0461.jpg Emily Boswell 2015 Recipient
Michael D Smither /artists/michael-smither
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Michael Smither/1 Michael Smither Gone Fishing 1.jpg Gone Fishing 1
Michaela Palacios NEW /artists/michaela-palacios-new
Kuaotunu
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Michaela Palacios/1 Michaela Palacios Kina series necklace.jpg Kina series necklace
Natasha Courtney /artists/natasha-courtney-1
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Natasha Courtney/1 Natasha Courtney Banksia side table 2.jpg Banksia side table 2
Paula McNeill /artists/paula-mcneill
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Paula McNeill/1 Paula McNeill The new dress.jpg The new dress
Rachel Olsen /artists/rachel-olsen
Cooks Beach
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Rachel Olsen/1 Rachel Olsen The Road Home.jpg The Road Home
Raewyn Helms-Davis /artists/raewyn-helms-davis
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Raewyn Helms-Davis/1 Raewyn HelmsDavis Ray.jpg Ray
Raewyn Hildreth /artists/raewyn-hildreth-new
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Raewyn Hildreth/1 Raewyn Hildreth Bodice by tree.jpg Bodice by tree
Reina Cottier /artists/reina-cottier-new
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Reina Cottier/1 Reina Cottier Cosmic Connection.jpg Cosmic Connection
Sally Samins /artists/sally-samins
Hot Water Beach
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Sally Samins/1 Sally Samins Doorway Two.jpg Doorway Two
Sharon Wright NEW /artists/sharon-wright-new
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Sharon Wright/1C Sharon Wright Simpsons.jpg Simpsons
Souzie Speerstra /artists/souzie-speerstra
Whenuakite
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Souzie Speerstra/1 Souzie Speerstra Into the blue.jpg Into the blue
Susan Dunster /artists/susan-dunster
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Susan Dunster/1 Suan Dunster Game for Anything.jpg Game for Anything
Tim Aldrich /artists/tim-aldrich
Tairua
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Tim Aldrich/1 Tim with fish.jpg Tim with fish
Tina Carey /artists/tina-carey
Pauanui
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Tina Carey/3C Tina Carey Garden by Night.jpg Garden by Night
Trevor Bayly /artists/trevor-bayly
Hahei
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Trevor Bayly/1 Homage to Fibonacci copy.jpg Homage to Fibonacci
Verena Tagmann /artists/verena-tagmann
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Verena Tagmann/2 and C Verena Tagmann Downhill.jpg Downhill
Wendy Walls /artists/wendy-walls
Whitianga
1 /Artists 2016 Guide update/Wendy Walls/1 Wendy Walls Everyone loves a Clown (1).jpg Everyone loves a Clown